Acoustic Oasis mobile banner
Stephane Grappelli - Piano Explorations CD cover
$8.95 price tag
Acoustic Oasis download bone
Piano Explorations

Recorded Live - September 1979

Total time 72:07

  1. Exploration I - (Improv: Time after Time / Tea For Two) 8:03
  2. Exploration II - (Improv: I Only Have Eyes For You / Makin Whoopie) 9:55
  3. Exploration III - (Improv: Time after Time / Ain't Misbehavin ) 8:37
  4. Exploration IV - (Improv: Time after Time / Tea For Two) 6:53
  5. Exploration V - (Improv: I Only Have Eyes For You / Makin Whoopie) 10:53
  6. Exploration VI - (Improv: Time after Time / Tea For Two) 10:05
  7. Exploration VII - (Improv: How about You / Makin Whoopie) 8:56
  8. Exploration VIII - (Improv: You Took Advantage of Me / Tea For Two) 8:41
Stephane Grappelli - Piano Explorations

Stephane Grappelli was known throughout his life as a master of the violin in any idiom and a true pioneer of string jazz. What most people don't know however, is that Grappelli was also a piano virtuoso of the highest order - an improvisational genius.

These unique piano solos were recorded live at various concert halls throughout the United States during Stephane's tour with the David Grisman Quintet in the fall of 1979. The performances, called by producer Grisman "Explorations": are fascinating musical documents, combining pure free-spirited improvising with his arrangements of classics like "Makin' Whoopee!," "How About You?," "Time After Time" and "Tea for Two." Brilliantly captured by engineer Bill Wolf, this unusual project also features some of Stephane's charming biographical patter introducing these pieces.

Flash audio samples available on desktop/laptop version

Explorations 1

Explorations 7