Acoustic Oasis mobile banner
Red Allen & The Kentuckians - Live On The Radio - 1966 CD cover
$8.95 price tag
Acoustic Oasis download bone
Live On The Radio - 1966

Recorded Live - MARCH 1966

Total time 30:01

  1. Introduction
  2. I'm Thinking Tonight of My Blue Eyes
  3. Bluegrass Chat
  4. Boil Them Cabbage Down
  5. We Live in Two Different Worlds
  6. Pike County Breakdown
  7. We Can't Be Darlings Anymore
  8. Someone Took My Place With You
  9. Interview
  10. Down the Road
  11. Red on Little David
  12. Love Please Come Home
  13. Bluegrass Country Intro
  14. Out On the Ocean
  15. So Long
  16. Panhandle Country

  17. Red Allen - Guitar
  18. David Grisman - Mandolin
  19. Porter Church - Banjo
  20. Bobby Diamond - Fiddle
Red Allen & The Kentuckians - Live On The Radio - 1966

On a brisk New York City Sunday morning in March of 1966, David Grisman called his friend Pete Wernick, the youthful student host of WKCR's weekly "Bluegrass Special" radio show and told him that Red Allen and his Kentuckians (the band David had just joined) were in town and available to play on his show. An hour or so later the Kentuckians (including Red Allen on guitar, David Grisman on mandolin, Porter Church on banjo and Bobby Diamond on fiddle) showed up at the Columbia University station to play and talk bluegrass for the next hour or so.

Fortunately the show was recorded in its entirety so we can all hear the music that was played that day.

Flash audio samples available on desktop/laptop version

Pike County Breakdown

Down The Road